The Historical Society of Mount Lebanon is a non-profit educational organization whose purpose is to interpret and preserve the history of Mount Lebanon, Pennsylvania.
FASCINATING FACTS ABOUT MOUNT LEBANON
Whiskey flowed from two local distilleries in the 19th century. The Jackson distillery drew its water from a rock spring near modern Cedar Lake, the other was in the valley where Cedar Boulevard now runs.
By 1876, ten homes, a church, a school, a general store with a post office, and two cemeteries marked the nucleus of a nascent village near the Washington Road intersections of Bower Hill Road, and what later became Scott Road in the Mount Lebanon section of Scott Township.
After World War II, the South Hills Taxi Company briefly operated a radio-dispatched fleet of cream and light blue Packard automobiles.
The modern “T” follows the line of the old Pittsburgh Southern steam railroad from just past Alfred Street to beyond Castle Shannon, a route also used by 1903-1909 electric interurban cars and a 1909-1953 shuttle to Castle Shannon called “the dinkey.”
The site of the Bower Hill Apartments once was occupied by a ski slope with a rope tow and a golf driving range.
Mount Lebanon residents used to feel explosions from coal mining, 40 to 50 feet below the surface. “Haulways” and galleries of mines underlie portions of the municipality including parts of Beverly Heights, Mission Hills, and Sunset Hills.
Mount Lebanon’s name was carried across the nation on January 20, 1953, when precisely drilled, white-uniformed Mount Lebanon Senior High School Band members marched down Pennsylvania Avenue in President Dwight D. Eisenhower’s first inaugural parade. Everyone at home watched on television.
BOARD OF TRUSTEES
Geoffrey Hurd, President
Amanda Gillen, Vice President
Beth Romig, Treasurer
Pamela Swent, Secretary